All posts by director

Probability Jobs 2017-18

This post lists (permanent) faculty jobs open to probabilists, which we have been made aware of by colleagues around the world. If you wish to add a job to this list, particularly if it is not listed on MathJobs, please send a message to

Probability-specific positions

  • The Department of Mathematical Sciences at the University of Bath is inviting applications for a full professorship within the Probability Laboratory at Bath (Prob-L@B), and for a prize fellowship in probability (a 2-year postdoc leading into a tenure-track position). Closing dates January 1 and December 31, respectively. Further information here and here.
  • The School of Mathematics and Statistics at the University of Melbourne is advertising a Lectureship in Probability and Stochastic Processes. Close date November 15. Further information here.
  • The Department of Industrial Engineering & Operations Research and College of Engineering at the University of Berkeley is advertising Faculty Positions in Stochastics. The application deadline is December 1. Further information here.
  • The Department of Statistics at the UC Berkeley is advertising an Assistant Professorship in Probability or Applied Statistics. The application deadline is November 15. Further information here.
  • The Department of Statistics and Applied Probability at UC Santa Barbara is advertising a tenure track Assistant Professor position in Probability. The application deadline is November 30. Further information here.
  • The School of Mathematics at the University of Birmingham is inviting applications for a lectureship in the area of probability and modern statistics, broadly defined. The application deadline is December 31. Further information here.
  • The Department of Statistics at the University of Warwick is inviting applications for a professorship and for a readership
    in statistics. The application deadline is January 10. Further information here.

Open positions

  • The Department of Mathematics at the University of Toronto has several openings in pure and applied mathematics. Review of applications will begin on November 15. Further information here.
  • The School of Mathematics, University of Bristol, is seeking to appoint a number of Lecturer/Senior Lecturer/Reader positions in Mathematical Sciences. The appointments are part of a major strategic expansion of the School of Mathematics. Closing date November 27. Further information here.
  • The School of Mathematics at the University of Leeds is advertising one post for a Professor of Mathematics or Statistics. The closing date is January 31. Further information here.

Louigi Addario-Berry appointed as the CRM Deputy Director for Scientific Affairs

The Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM) is pleased to announce the appointment of Probability Lab member Professor Louigi Addario-Berry as Deputy Director – Scientific Programs. His mandate began on July 1, 2015. Professor Addario-Berry will be joining the Management Committee of the CRM, which includes Professor Luc Vinet (CRM Director), Professor Galia Dafni (Concordia, Deputy Director – Publications), and Professor Odile Marcotte (UQAM and GERAD, Deputy Director – Partnerships).

For more information see

Louis-Pierre Arguin wins the André Aisenstadt Prize in Mathematics

The International Scientific Advisory Committee of the Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM) recently announced that the  Probability Lab member Louis-Pierre Arguin from the Université de Montréal and the City University of New York (Baruch College and Graduate Center) is the 2015 André Aisenstadt Prize recipient. The André Aisenstadt Mathematics Prize, which recognizes outstanding research achievement by a young Canadian mathematician in pure or applied mathematics, consists of a $3,000 award and a medal. Previous recipients of the prize working in probability include: Omer  Angel (2010), Jonathan Taylor (2008) and Ander Holroyd (2007). 

For a short description of Louis-Pierre’s research see:


Dima Jakobson appointed Editor-in-chief of AMQ

The ISM has appointed Dima Jakobson (Montreal Probability Group associate member) editor-in-chief of the Annales Mathématiques du Québec (AMQ). His three year term will begin January 1, 2015.  The search committee for the task expressed their conviction that the journal would benefit greatly from his expertise in a cross-section of topics – from geometric analysis and partial differential equations, to mathematical physics. He has contributed to the study of spectra and eigenfunctions of Laplace- and Dirac- type operators. His interests are wide and include ergodic theory, probability theory, number theory, and graph theory.

For the press release see News at:

CRM-ISM postdoctoral fellowships

The Montreal Probability Group encourages young probabilists to apply for CRM-ISM postdoctoral fellowships. These fellowships are awarded to promising researchers who have recently obtained or expect to obtain a Ph.D. in the mathematical sciences. The fellowship offers an annual stipend of at least $40,000 CDN for one year, and is renewable for a second year. Details about the fellowships and the application process are available here. To maximize their chances, we encourage interested applicants to contact the MPG members they envision working with to let us know about your application. The application deadline is December 12 at 4:00 PM.

CRM funds probability lab

The CRM has approved the creation of a new laboratory in probability, the Groupe de probabilité de Montréal/Montréal probability group. Lab members pursue research in a broad range of areas, spanning theoretical and applied, continuous and discrete probability. A particular focus is on the development and analysis of probabilistic models for real-world phenomena from physics, biology, statistics and computer science. The creation of the lab underscores the high level of research in probability in the Montréal area.
The initial members of GPM/MPG are Louigi Addario-Berry (McGill), Louis-Pierre Arguin (Montréal), Linan Chen (McGill), Luc Devroye (McGill), Don Dawson (Carleton), Alex Fribergh (Montréal), Sabin Lessard (Montréal), Bruce Reed (McGill) Lea Popovic (Concordia), Wei Sun (Concordia)  and Xiaowen Zhou (Concordia); and associate members Marco Bertola (Concordia), Andrew Granville (Montréal), Dmitry Jakobson (McGill) and Vojkan Jaksic (McGill).